top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah Joy

To Hell And Back

I will never forget the night I had the opportunity to see Maren Morris play in concert. It was my second concert I have ever been to, and hands down by far the best. All I can remember is feeling the cool breeze as I danced underneath the stars, my hands high in the air as I danced to one of my favorite lyrics “You didn’t save me, you didn’t think I needed saving. You didn’t change me, you didn’t think I needed changing.” The whole night took my breath away and I have never felt so entirely in my element; and that is a moment I will forever cherish.

Now you may be wondering “What is it about these lyrics that made this night so special?” Growing up I have been use to people leaving me with my problems. I had grown use to dealing with everything on my own. I had to fix my own problems. In the end though it only made me stronger. I saved myself, I changed myself. Yes I could not do it without God’s help, but I had to thrive on my own for a little. It was these thoughts that clouded my head as I danced to the lyrics. The past weeks I have secluded myself from everything, I took a break off social media, and writing became my safe place. I slowly began to realize my worth. To all the girls out there, you do not need a man to determine your worth. You are a beautiful, strong, independent jewel on your own. I cannot express enough on not letting anyone dull your sparkle, because you are a queen.

Everyone has their own journey and their own story to tell. Everyone is going to go through difficulties such as breakups, losing friends, failing a class, divorce, financial struggles; you name it. But what matters the most is what we take from life’s bullets. How we react in the end. Whether or not it makes us stronger or weaker. I never would have thought that three weeks after feeling so empty at my lowest point that I would make it out as a stronger individual. I have been learning to live life and enjoying every precious little moment. Life is to short to stay sad and dwell on a hardship.

April 20th will forever be a night I will remember. It was so nice to let loose, to forget everything, and to LIVE. Who knew a night under the stars with your favorite people could flip that switch. Who would’ve thought dancing your worries away was the cure to pick up those last pieces off the floor. I will keep doing me. I will continue to go to more concerts, I’ll dance my worries away in front of strangers, and sing my heart out until I no longer have a voice. One night was all it took to realize my worth. Because good things come to those who wait. I may have been to hell and back, but I only came out stronger in the end.

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page